Boards for 2021 confirmed

Boards for 2021 confirmed

There are five new faces across Manawatū Rugby Union's three volunteer commitees.

The committees cover the major decision making across the three levels of community rugby Manawatū: Junior, Secondary Schools and Senior (Club Rugby Executive).

Rebecca Brown from Bush was voted onto the Club Rugby Executive at the union's Annual Meeting making her the first woman to serve on the executive.

Brown delivered a passionate speech to sway the clubs and receievd the votes along with returning member Damian Peeti.

Peeti represents both College Old Boys and Manawatū Māori.

Brown was one of two new members of the executive with Ben Koch being appointed by the MRU appointments commitee.

Koch, a former MRU community rugby manager, is heavily involved in with the Varsity club.

He was appointed alongside incumbent chair Dan Lewis.

Roger Heatley of Ashhurst and Matt Booth of the Manawatū Referees' Association. 

Freyberg High School's Saskia Beveridge was seconded onto the Manawatū Secondary Schools Board at their AGM in March.

Beveridge, who is the sports co-oridinator at Freyberg, is the first woman on the secondary schools board.

The Junior Rugby Board saw two new members join in Brad Childs from High School Old Boys and Jared Bambry of Bush.


Club Rugby Executive

Dan Lewis (FOBO) – Chair
Sean O’Connor (Feilding Yellows)
Damian Peeti (College OB)
Mark Andersen (OB-Marist)
Duncan Mitchell (Te Kawau)
Rebecca Brown (Bush)
Ben Koch (Varsity)

Junior Rugby Board

Kent Higson (Marist)  – Chair
Brendon Gerrish (Feilding Saturday Morning)
Nathan Gillard (Kia Toa)
Brad Childs (High School OB)
Jared Bambry (Bush)
Danelle Whakatihi (Bulls)

Secondary School School

Nick Reid (Awatapu College) – Chair
Damon Durie (PNBHS)
Rob Jones (Feilding HS)
Justin Lock (Feilding HS)
Saskia Beveridge (Freyberg HS)

No video selected.