Structure for 2020 McDonalds Manawatu Senior Club Rugby confirmed

Structure for 2020 McDonalds Manawatu Senior Club Rugby confirmed

The format for the McDonald’s Manawatu Senior Club competitions have been confirmed for 2020 and includes the introduction of a new grade.

The Manawatu Club Rugby Executive have confirmed the addition of an Under 85kg club grade pending enough entries from clubs.

The grade has also been opened to entries from Horowhenua-Kapiti and Whanganui teams.

While the structure of the competition will only be confirmed based on the number of team that enter, its final will be played alongside the rest of the McDonald’s Manawatu Community Club rugby grades (Houlihan Cup (Senior Two), Life Members’ Cup (Senior Three), Gordon Brown Memorial Cup (Colts) and Under 85kg).

The McDonald’s Manawatu Hankins Shield (Senior One), will feature eight teams – Feilding Yellows, Varsity, College Old Boys, Marist-Old Boys, Feilding Old Boys-Oroua, Kia Toa, Te Kawau and Freyberg.

Kick off for the Hankins Shield will be on March 21, with teams contesting two rounds with the final to be held on July 4.

The Prue Christie Cup (women’s club rugby) will follow the Plumbing World Cup Women’s Model with the final to be played on July 25.

The Houlihan Cup will be played in two rounds with all teams playing other in round one before the competition is split in half based on the points table for the second round.

The Life Members’ Cup will adopt the same format.

The major change in the Presidents Cup is the lifting of the age limit to 35, but each team will be able to field up to six players between the age of 30 and 34 in each game.


Click here for full details of the Hankins Shield grade for 2020.

Click here for full details for all MRU Community rugby grades for 2020.