• Home
  • News
  • Deal to captain Manawatu Sevens at Nationals

Two Manawatu Referees in National Squad

Two Manawatu Referees in National Squad

Manawatu referees Tim Griffiths and Brittany Andrew have been named in the New Zealand Rugby National Referees Squad for 2019.

Griffiths, who made his Mitre 10 Cup debut this year, will be in the squad for a second season, but it will be a debut season for Andrew.

Andrew, who is Manawatu Rugby's Referee Education Officer, has been reffing Farah Palmer Cup for the past three season and controlled the semifinal between Waikato and Counties Manukau this year.


The 34 referees chosen in the NZR HP squad will officiate in a range of NZR National Competitions including Super Rugby (professional referees), Mitre 10 Cup, Heartland Championship, Farah Palmer Cup, Jock Hobbs U19s and also be available for Super Rugby development, Top 4 schools and other NZR domestic fixtures.

The 2019 HP squad will operate as one squad and the “wider training group” concept for 2018 will not be used in 2019. This will allow the same training and development to be put into all of the squad.