​​​​​​​The Manawatū Cyclones is our elite women's team that competes in the Farah Palmer Cup Championship.

Manawatū played New Zealand's first inter-provincial women's game against Hawke's Bay in 1980. In 1999, the Manawatū team entered the newly established Women's Provincial Championship, which was renamed the Farah Palmer Cup in 2016 in honour of the Black Ferns and Manawatū legend.. 

The Manawatū women's adopted the Cyclones name in 2014 and won the Farah Palmer Cup Championship division in in 2021. 

Since 2014, Cyclones players who have played for the Black Ferns include Shakira Baker, Ruth McKay, Sarah Hirini, Janna Vaughan, Kristina Sue, Selica Winiata, Kaipo Olsen-Baker, and Layla Sae.