The Manawatū Turbos are our men's professional team who compete in the Bunnings National Provincial Championship.

The Manawatū men's team played its first game in 1886 against Wanganui. The team went through a golden era in the mid-1970s and early 1980s, winning the Ranfurly Shield in 1976 and the National Provincial Championship (NPC) in 1980. 

The Turbos name was introduced in 2006, when the team re-joined the top level of New Zealand provincial rugby after years in the old NPC second divsion. The Turbos won the Championship division in 2014.

41 Manawatū players have played for the All Blacks, including legends like Gary Knight, Mark Shaw, Christian Cullen and Aaron Smith.